I Styled the Same Piece For a Week | Fashion Tips

I bought these adorable black cargo capris at JcPenney and could not wait to wear them! Sometimes a piece seems like it can only be worn as a lounge-piece or dressy accent, so in hopes to break the cliche and inspire fashion-lovers, here are seven ways I styled my black cargo capris:

**If you like anything I wore, scroll to the bottom of this post and check to see if it is still available**

1)  Jackets are part of the outfit too!

When I applied to all colleges on the East coast, I knew I needed to start buying jackets and sweaters to wear over there (I had like five and they were not warm). For the longest time I hated jackets because I hated wearing more fabric, but I get easily cold, so I knew I needed to accept it. Luckily, as I got into fashion, I realized that jackets are a part of your outfit. This made shopping for them fun. The jacket I am wearing in the picture below is the raspberry zip hoodie from Avril Lavigne’s Abbey Dawn collection. It is a fun bright pink acid wash color with white punk details. I love that it is fashionable while also functional. Zip-up hoodies are my all-time favorite, because I can wear them unzipped, zipped halfway, or zipped all the way depending on my mood, the temperature, and how I want to style my jacket with the shirt underneath. In this look I am wearing nothing underneath my pink jacket (except my bra, of course), and styled it to be a statement, lounge-wear piece.

Outfit 1

 

2) Have you ever tried fingerless gloves?

Well, you should! Not only do they keep your fingers (and arms, if you have long ones like mine) warm, but they are fashionable, too! Since mine have both stripes and skulls decorating them, I toned down the rest of my outfit. I could not resist adding the belt, though! (Also, relating to fingerless gloves, I love them over regular gloves because I can do normal things easily such as opening doors. I highly recommend them.)

Outfit 2

 

3) Cute in Cold Weather!

Okay, so it might be summer, but this hotel is COLD! Plus, who is to say capris cannot be cute in cold weather? There is minimal color, but the cheetah print keeps the outfit interesting. The black headband keeps your head and ears warm as well as continuing the black theme through every piece of the outfit. I think the headband pulls the outfit together.

Blog--471

 

4) Perfect Under Long Shirts

The length of these capris worked well under my long plaid shirt. If I had worn shorts, or even mid-thigh shorts, my outfit would have looked either slutty or like at-home-wear. With pants/jeans, my outfit would be too hot for summer–maybe even fall–weather. However, with the capris, my clothes look like an outfit. They are also a good temperature.

Blog--472

 

5) Try Layering

When you are in a fashion slump and the weather gets cold, layer! Take a not-so comfortable jacket that you think looks awesome on you and stick a comfortable and warm underneath. This look is half-edgy, half-soft. It is a nice balance. This way, you can keep your style and stay warm at the same time!

Blog--473

 

6) Simple Tee

Keep things simple and wear a tee. You can dress it up or keep it dressed down; either way, it works!

Blog--474

 

7) Sporty meets Casual

I could go hiking in this outfit or go grocery shopping. The capris–rather than spandex or leggings–allow you to make the outfit go in whatever direction you want. Be creative! You can wear an active tank top with dangling earrings instead or embrace the active look and wear running shoes.

Blog--Fashion

 

Pieces I Wore:

Black Cargo Capris: http://www.jcpenney.com/p/arizona-poplin-crops-juniors/ppr5007246400?pTmplType=regular&catId=SearchResults&searchTerm=juniors+black+cargo+capris+arizona+jeans

Rasberry Zip Hoodie: http://abbeydawn.fanfire.com/cgi-bin/WebObjects/Store.woa/wa/product?sourceCode=ABDWEBWWUSD&sku=ABD63600

Striped Skull Fingerless Gloves: http://www.mrcostumes.com/Halloween-Accessories/Black-and-White-Striped-Fingerless-Gloves-with-Skull-Print8787.htm (they come in white, red, purple, and pink)

White Studded Belt: http://www.hottopic.com/product/white-faux-leather-3-row-pyramid-stud-belt/10864340.html

Purple Racerback: Not available

Deer Valley Black Fleece Headband: In store purchases only

Cheetah Print Juicy Couture Vest: I do not think it is sold anymore at a store, but…

https://poshmark.com/listing/Juicy-Couture-puffer-vest-57a7be51ea3f36343a0120f6?utm_source=gdm&gdm_bottom=false&campaign_id=731570126&utm_campaign=731570126&enable_guest_buy_flow=true&gclid=CjwKCAjwtdbLBRALEiwAm8pA5feZzQFc79_RyKK2XUxVh2dYRz5BNuFX9gUSmIjOB9rX1_93dKHQyhoCazgQAvD_BwE

https://www.ebay.com/i/322558537755?chn=ps&dispItem=1

Black Tank Top: https://www.macys.com/shop/product/planet-gold-juniors-racerback-tank-top?ID=2723369&CategoryID=60983&LinkType=&selectedSize=#fn=sp%3D6%26spc%3D3326%26ruleId%3D105|BS|BA%26slotId%3D308

Blue & Yellow Plaid Button-up: Not available

White Infinity Scarf: Not available

Blue Sweater: https://www.walmart.com/ip/Hanes-Women-s-Essential-Crewneck-Fleece-Pullover-Sweatshirt/52380654?variantFieldId=actual_color (I am not positive but I am pretty sure this is it)

Black Leather Jacket: Not available

White & Purple Striped Tee: Not available

Pink Baseball Cap: Not available (I bought it in the Wilderness Aware rafting store in Colorado)

Tie Dye Lake Tahoe shirt: Not available (I bought it in a random store in Lake Tahoe)

Leave a Reply

